1. HOW OLD DO YOU HAVE TO BE TO PURCHASE LOTTERY TICKETS IN ONTARIO?

You must be 18 years of age or older to purchase lottery tickets in Ontario. Under legislation passed in 1997, it is a provincial offence, punishable by significant fines, to sell OLG lottery tickets to anyone under the age of 18. In addition, we will suspend any retailers found to have sold to minors from our lottery business.

2. MUST ALL WINNERS HAVE THEIR NAMES PUBLISHED?

The publishing of winners is important in demonstrating the integrity of our lottery games. OLG reserves the right to publish the name, city and photograph of any winner. This is necessary for us to demonstrate that people do win. Winner information is released to the news media and may be used in OLG's advertising. For every prizewinner there are a number of other players who did not win but have a legitimate desire to know that someone won.

3. SHOULD I SIGN MY TICKET BEFORE CLAIMING MY PRIZE AT A LOTTERY RETAILER?

Starting Jan. 28, 2008, lottery tickets must be signed by the customer before the retailer will validate them. Retailers cannot validate tickets that are not signed. OLG strongly recommends that you sign your ticket AS SOON AS YOU PURCHASE IT. This identifies it as yours and helps protect you if you were ever to lose it.

4. WHERE CAN I PURCHASE LOTTERY PRODUCTS IN ONTARIO?

Lottery products can be purchased from any of the more than 10,000 OLG retailers across the province. More than 8,300 retail locations are equipped with lottery terminals for on-line games such as LOTTO 6/49. INSTANT games can be purchased at all retail locations. You can also purchase LOTTO MAX, LOTTO 6/49 and ENCORE online at PlayOLG.ca.

5. Can I Buy OLG Lottery Products Over The Internet?

Yes. You can purchase LOTTO MAX, LOTTO 6/49 and ENCORE online at PlayOLG.ca.

6. WHEN CAN I VALIDATE MY LOTTERY TICKETS TO CHECK IF I'M A WINNER?

You can validate all OLG lottery tickets at participating retail outlets during lottery terminal operating hours, from 6 a.m. to 1 a.m. on Mondays and from 6 a.m. to 2 a.m. Tuesdays to Sundays (Eastern Time). However, it is important to note that lottery retailers, as independent business people, set their own hours of operation for their businesses.

 

7. HOW DO I CLAIM A PRIZE?

http://lottery.olg.ca/en-ca/learn/how-to-claim/prizes-under-1000-at-prize-centre

8. HOW LONG ARE MY LOTTERY TICKETS VALID FOR?

All tickets generated by the lottery terminal expire 12 months after the draw date on the ticket. For INSTANT tickets, check the expiry date on the ticket back. Sports tickets are valid for 12 months from the last day of the games List from which the selections were made.

 

9. HOW DO I CLAIM WINNINGS IF I AM A RESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES?

OLG's lottery games are designed to be enjoyed by adult residents of Ontario. Occasionally, residents from other jurisdictions play and win OLG's lottery games, and OLG treats everyone fairly. The same claiming procedures described in the "How do I claim a prize?" answer above apply, subject to any U.S. postal regulations. OLG cannot mail cheques into the U.S. In cases where U.S. winners are required to receive a cheque for their winnings, they must pick up their cheque in person at the OLG Prize Centre in Toronto. More information about claiming prizes is available by calling the OLG Customer Excellence Centre at 1-800-387-0098.

10. WHAT TAX IMPLICATIONS ARE THERE FOR LOTTERY WINNERS?

Generally, Canadian tax authorities do not consider lottery winnings to be taxable for Canadian tax purposes. However, U.S. residents playing OLG lotteries should note that the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) does consider such winnings to be subject to U.S. tax. While OLG will not withhold the U.S. tax against Canadian winnings, U.S. residents must report such profits on their individual tax returns. For more information, U.S. residents should contact their local IRS office.

11. WHAT IS A REPURCHASE?

Repurchase is a way to play the same selections for the next draw without having to complete a Selection Slip. Merely present your ticket to a retailer after the last draw date and tell the retailer that you wish to purchase the same selections for the next draw. The retailer will then generate a ticket with the same selections for the next draw and return the original ticket together with the new ticket to you. A Repurchase play ticket costs the same as the original ticket. While Repurchase does apply to ENCORE, it does not generate the same ENCORE number.

Note: The Repurchase feature is only available up to 28 days from the last draw on a non-winning ticket or up to 30 days on a winning ticket, which has been paid.

12. WHAT HAPPENS WITH LOTTERY PRIZE MONEY THAT IS NOT CLAIMED?

Unclaimed prizes from national games, e.g. LOTTO 6/49, are returned to players through future bonus games or promotions. These funds are held separately from Ontario-only games and are administered by the Interprovincial Lottery Corporation. Unclaimed prizes from games operated solely by OLG are directed to profits paid to the provincial government to benefit the people of Ontario.

13. WHY SHOULD I SIGN MY TICKET?

OLG requires that you write or print your name on your lottery ticket before a retailer can check it. This is for your own protection. Signing the ticket is an easy way to identify it as yours. And that makes it difficult for someone else to claim your prize if your ticket is a winner. It also helps protect you if you were ever to lose it. Retailers cannot validate tickets that are not signed.

14.  WHERE CAN I CHECK MY TICKET?

  • Compare your numbers to the winning numbers on OLG.ca.

  • Call our WIN! Line at 416-870-8946 (Toronto area) or toll free at 1-866-891-8946 (outside Toronto area)

  • Pick up a winning numbers printout from your lottery terminal retailer

  • Use the easy self-serve Ticket Checker at your lottery terminal retailer. Simply insert the ticket, barcode side up, and wait for the message to appear on the Ticket Checker's screen.

  • Sign up on OLG.ca for winning numbers to be e-mailed to you.

  • Ask a lottery retailer to check it for you.

15. WHAT IS THE PROPER PROCEDURE FOR RETAILERS TO FOLLOW WHEN VALIDATING LOTTERY TICKETS?

When you present a ticket for validation, all retailers must follow these simple steps:

  1. Check whether tickets are signed before validating.
  2. If tickets are not signed, ask the customer to sign them. Retailers cannot validate tickets that are not signed.
  3. Tear through the bar code of all paid-out tickets, and return all validated tickets, winners and non-winners, to customers along with the corresponding validation slips.
  4. Keep clutter away from the lottery terminal or Instant ticket device and the printer.
  5. Ensure the lottery terminal customer display screen is readily visible to the customer at all times.

16. HOW CAN I BE SURE MY TICKET IS CHECKED PROPERLY?

At a retailer who has a lottery terminal:

  • The lottery terminal plays a musical tune and a bilingual voice message and displays a corresponding message on the customer display screen. The tunes and voice messages alert players as to whether a ticket is a winner; a winner of a major prize of $5,000 or more; a non-winner; or if the ticket cannot be processed.

17. WHAT DO I DO IF I LOSE A LOTTERY TICKET OR IF IT HAS BEEN STOLEN?

If you have lost your lottery ticket or believe it has been stolen, you can contact OLG the following ways:
Phone: OLG Suppport: 1-800-387-0098
Email: Email OLG

18. WHAT IF I DON'T WANT TO SIGN MY TICKET BECAUSE OF PRIVACY CONCERNS?

Retailers are required to return all validated tickets to customers, whether they are winning tickets or non-winning tickets. This puts your name/signature back in your hands.

19. DO I SIGN THE FRONT OF THE TICKET OR THE BACK OF THE TICKET?

You may sign either the front or the back of the ticket. However, a convenient signature box is located on the front of all on-line lottery tickets such as LOTTO 6/49. Signature boxes will begin to appear on the front of INSTANT tickets in the coming months.

20. WHAT CONSTITUTES AN ACCEPTABLE SIGNATURE?

The "Signature" area is protection for you to be able to identify your ticket with certainty. You can choose to write or print your name however you feel best represents you and ensures your ownership of the ticket.

21. WHO SHOULD SIGN A TICKET THAT HAS BEEN PURCHASED FOR A GROUP?

A signature is required on a ticket before it can be validated. Often the person who is redeeming the ticket for a group can sign the ticket and also mark it as belonging to a group of people by adding a phrase such as "in trust" or "and group" which would indicate that others share in the ownership of the ticket.

 

22. HOW CAN A DISPUTE OVER A LOTTERY PRIZE BE RESOLVED?

OLG's goal is to ensure that the right prize is paid to the right person(s) every time. There are times when ownership of a lottery prize is disputed by the claimants and other parties. When an ownership dispute occurs, options are available, as follows. The parties involved may settle the matter privately, or by proceeding in the Ontario courts, or resolved through arbitration by an arbitrator appointed by the Chair of the Board of the Alcohol and Gaming Commission of Ontario (AGCO). All parties to a prize dispute must agree to the process for arbitration to proceed. For more information on the AGCO arbitration process visit the AGCO website. Any party to a prize dispute is advised to obtain independent legal advice.

1. QUEL ÂGE FAUT-IL AVOIR POUR POUVOIR ACHETER DES BILLETS DE LOTERIE EN ONTARIO?

Vous devez avoir au moins 18 ans pour acheter des billets de loterie en Ontario. En vertu de dispositions adoptées en 1997, la vente de billets de loterie d'OLG à une personne âgée de moins de 18 ans constitue une infraction provinciale punissable par une lourde amende. De plus, nous imposerons une suspension à tout détaillant ayant vendu des billets de loterie à des mineurs.

2. DEVEZ-VOUS PUBLIER LE NOM DE TOUS LES GAGNANTS?

La publication du nom des gagnants est importante, car elle est une preuve de l'intégrité de nos jeux. OLG se réserve le droit de publier le nom, la ville et la photographie de tout gagnant. Ainsi, nous pouvons prouver qu'il y a bel et bien des gagnants. L'information sur les gagnants est divulguée aux médias d'information et peut être utilisée par OLG dans sa publicité. Pour chaque gagnant, il y a un certain nombre de joueurs qui n'ont pas gagné, mais qui ont le besoin légitime de savoir que quelqu'un a gagné.

3. EST-CE QUE JE DOIS SIGNER MON BILLET AVANT DE RÉCLAMER MON LOT CHEZ UN DÉTAILLANT DE LOTERIE?

Depuis le 28 janvier 2008, un client doit signer ses billets de loterie avant que le détaillant les valide. Les détaillants ne peuvent valider les billets qui ne sont pas signés. OLG vous recommande fortement de signer votre billet AU MOMENT DE L'ACHAT. Vous montrez ainsi qu'il vous appartient et serez mieux protégé si jamais vous le perdez.

4. OÙ PUIS-JE ACHETER DES PRODUITS DE LOTERIE EN ONTARIO?

Les produits de loterie sont en vente chez plus de 10 000 détaillants d'OLG dans la province. Plus de 8 300 points de vente sont munis d'un terminal de loterie destiné aux jeux sur terminal comme LOTTO 6/49. Les jeux INSTANT sont en vente chez tous les détaillants d'OLG. Vous pouvez aussi acheter LOTTO MAX, LOTTO 6/49 et ENCORE en ligne à PlayOLG.ca.

5. PUIS-JE ACHETER DES PRODUITS DE LOTERIE PAR INTERNET?

Oui. Vous pouvez acheter LOTTO MAX, LOTTO 6/49 et ENCORE en ligne à PlayOLG.ca.

6. QUAND PUIS-JE VALIDER MES BILLETS DE LOTERIE POUR VÉRIFIER SI JE SUIS GAGNANT?

Vous pouvez valider tous les billets de loterie d'OLG chez les détaillants participants pendant les heures d'ouverture des jeux sur terminal, de 6 h à 1 h du matin les lundis et de 6 h à 2 h du matin du mardi au dimanche (heure de l'Est). Il est toutefois important de préciser que les détaillants de loterie, qui sont des gens d'affaires indépendants, fixent les heures d'ouverture de leur entreprise.

 

7. QUE DOIS-JE FAIRE POUR RÉCLAMER UN LOT?

http://lottery.olg.ca/fr-ca/learn/how-to-claim/prizes-under-1000-at-prize-centre

8. PENDANT COMBIEN DE TEMPS MES BILLETS SONT-ILS VALIDES?

Tous les billets sur terminal expirent 12 mois après la date du tirage qui y est inscrite. Pour connaître la date d'expiration d'un billet INSTANT, consultez le verso du billet. Les billets des loteries Sports sont valides pendant 12 mois après la dernière date de la Liste de jeu utilisée pour faire les sélections.

 

9. COMMENT RÉCLAMER UN LOT SI JE RÉSIDE AUX ÉTATS-UNIS?

Les jeux de loterie d'OLG sont conçus pour les résidents adultes de l'Ontario. Il arrive que des résidents d'ailleurs jouent et gagnent aux jeux de loterie d'OLG, et OLG traite tout le monde équitablement. Les procédures de réclamation des lots décrites ci-dessus sont également valables, sous réserve de toute réglementation postale américaine. OLG ne peut envoyer des chèques par la poste aux États-Unis. Lorsque les gagnants américains doivent recevoir un chèque en paiement de leurs gains, ils doivent réclamer leur chèque en personne au Centre des prix OLG, à Toronto. Pour obtenir des précisions sur la réclamation des lots, téléphonez au Centre de soutien à la clientèle OLG au 1-800-387-0098.

10. QUELLES SONT LES RÉPERCUSSIONS FISCALES POUR LES GAGNANTS DE LOTERIE?

En règle générale, les autorités fiscales canadiennes n'estiment pas que les gains de loterie sont imposables aux fins de l'impôt du Canada. Toutefois, l'Internal Revenue Service (IRS) américain estime que ce type de gain est assujetti à l'impôt américain. Même si OLG ne retient pas les impôts américains sur les gains obtenus au Canada, les résidents américains doivent les inclure dans leur déclaration de revenus personnelle. Pour obtenir des précisions, les résidents américains doivent communiquer avec le bureau de l'IRS de leur région.

11. QU'EST-CE QU'UN RACHAT?

Le rachat permet de jouer les mêmes sélections pour le prochain tirage sans avoir à remplir une fiche de sélection. Présentez votre billet au détaillant après la dernière date de tirage qui y figure et dites-lui que vous voulez acheter les mêmes sélections pour le prochain tirage. Le détaillant produira alors un billet sur lequel ces sélections seront enregistrées pour le prochain tirage, puis il vous remettra le billet original ainsi que le nouveau billet. Un billet racheté coûte le même prix que le billet original. Le Rachat s'applique à ENCORE, mais il ne génère pas le même numéro de ENCORE.

Remarque.- L’option de rachat n’est disponible que jusqu’à 28 jours après la date du dernier tirage d’un billet non gagnant, et jusqu’à 30 jours pour un billet gagnant qui a été payé.

12. QU'ARRIVE-T-IL DES LOTS NON RÉCLAMÉS? OÙ VA L'ARGENT?

Les lots non réclamés des jeux nationaux, c.-à-d. LOTTO 6/49, sont retournés aux joueurs à l'occasion de tirages bonis ou de promotions tenus ultérieurement. Ces fonds sont conservés séparément des jeux vendus uniquement en Ontario et sont administrés par la Société de la loterie interprovinciale (SLI). Les lots non réclamés des jeux exploités uniquement par OLG sont versés aux profits destinés au gouvernement provincial au bénéfice des Ontariens.

13. POURQUOI DOIS-JE SIGNER MON BILLET?

OLG exige que votre nom soit signé ou écrit en lettres moulées sur votre billet de loterie pour qu'un détaillant puisse le vérifier. C'est pour assurer votre protection. C'est un bon moyen de l'identifier comme étant le vôtre. Si votre billet est gagnant, c'est plus difficile pour une autre personne de réclamer votre lot. De plus, vous êtes mieux protégé si jamais vous le perdez. Les détaillants ne peuvent pas valider un billet qui n'est pas signé.

14.  OÙ PUIS-JE VÉRIFIER MON BILLET?

  • Comparez vos numéros aux numéros gagnants sur OLG.ca.

  • Téléphonez à Info-Loto au 416-870-8946 (région de Toronto) ou au numéro sans frais 1-866-891-8946 (à l'extérieur de la région de Toronto).

  • Procurez-vous un relevé des numéros gagnants chez votre détaillant muni d'un terminal de loterie.

  • Servez-vous du vérificateur de billet libre-service, facile à utiliser, chez votre détaillant muni d'un terminal de loterie. Insérez le billet, le code à barres vers le haut, et attendez qu'un message s'affiche à l'écran du vérificateur de billets.

  • Abonnez-vous aux numéros gagnants sur OLG.ca et ils vous seront envoyés par courriel.

  • Demandez à un détaillant de loterie de vérifier les numéros pour vous.

15. QUELLE PROCÉDURE LES DÉTAILLANTS DOIVENT-ILS SUIVRE LORSQU'ILS VALIDENT UN BILLET DE LOTERIE?

Lorsqu’un billet est présenté à un détaillant pour qu'il le valide, il est tenu de suivre ces étapes faciles.

  1. Avant de valider un billet, vérifiez s'il est signé.
  2. Si le billet n'est pas signé, demandez au client de le signer avant qu'il soit validé. Les détaillants ne peuvent pas valider un billet qui n’est pas signé.
  3. Déchirez le code à barres de tous les billets dont le lot a été payé et remettez aux clients tous les billets validés, gagnants ou non gagnants, et les coupons de validation correspondants.
  4. Assurez-vous que rien n'encombre l'espace autour du terminal de loterie et de l'imprimante.
  5. Assurez-vous que les clients peuvent en tout temps voir facilement l'écran du client du terminal de loterie.
 

16. COMMENT PUIS-JE ÊTRE CERTAIN QUE MON BILLET EST VÉRIFIÉ CORRECTEMENT?

Chez un détaillant muni d'un terminal de loterie :

  • Le terminal de loterie fait entendre une mélodie accompagnée d'un message vocal bilingue, et un message correspondant s'affiche à l'écran vidéo faisant face au client. Les mélodies et les messages vocaux informent les joueurs qu'un billet est gagnant; qu'il est gagnant d'un lot important de 5 000 $ ou plus; qu'il est non gagnant; ou que le billet ne peut être traité.

17. QUE DOIS-JE FAIRE SI J'AI PERDU UN BILLET DE LOTERIE OU QU'IL A ÉTÉ VOLÉ?

Si vous avez perdu votre billet de loterie ou que vous pensez qu'il a été volé, vous pouvez communiquer avec OLG :
par téléphone : Centre de soutien OLG, 1-800-387-0098
par courriel : Envoyer un courriel à OLG

18. QUE SE PASSERA-T-IL SI JE NE VEUX PAS SIGNER MON BILLET POUR DES RAISONS DE CONFIDENTIALITÉ?

Les détaillants sont tenus de remettre tous les billets validés, gagnants ou non gagnants, aux clients. De cette façon, vous reprenez possession de votre nom et de votre signature.

19. EST-CE QUE JE DOIS SIGNER MON NOM SUR LE RECTO OU LE VERSO DU BILLET?

Vous pouvez signer sur le recto ou le verso du billet. Toutefois, une case de signature est commodément imprimée sur le devant de tous les billets de loterie sur terminal comme LOTTO 6/49. Une case de signature fera son apparition sur le devant des billets INSTANT dans les mois qui viennent.

20. QU'EST-CE QUI CONSTITUE UNE SIGNATURE ACCEPTABLE?

La section « signature » vous protège en vous permettant d'identifier votre billet avec certitude. Vous pouvez signer votre nom ou l'écrire en lettres moulées : choisissez l'option qui, à votre avis, vous représente le mieux et permet d'établir la propriété du billet.

21. QUI DEVRAIT SIGNER UN BILLET QU'UN GROUPE A ACHETÉ?

Un billet doit être signé pour être validé. Souvent, la personne qui réclame le lot d'un billet au nom d'un groupe peut le signer et indiquer qu'il appartient à un groupe de personnes en ajoutant la mention « en fiducie » ou « et le groupe », montrant ainsi que d'autres personnes sont également propriétaires du billet.

 

22. COMMENT UN DIFFÉREND RELATIF À UN LOT PEUT-IL ÊTRE RÉSOLU?

OLG a pour objectif de s'assurer que le bon lot est toujours payé à la bonne personne ou aux bonnes personnes. Il peut arriver que des réclamants ou d'autres parties contestent la propriété d'un lot de loterie. Dans un tel cas, les options suivantes s'offrent à ces personnes. Les parties en cause peuvent régler le litige à l'amiable ou devant les tribunaux de l'Ontario, ou en s'adressant à un arbitre nommé par le président de la Commission des alcools et des jeux de l'Ontario (CAJO). Toutes les parties d'un différend relatif à un lot doivent accepter le processus d'arbitrage pour qu'il ait lieu. Pour obtenir de l'information sur le processus d'arbitrage de la CAJO, consultez le site Web de la CAJO. Il est conseillé à chaque partie d'un différend relatif à un lot d'obtenir un avis juridique indépendant.