Taxes and fees

In Canada, lottery winners don’t need to pay any fees to Canadian authorities on their lottery winnings. And OLG will never ask lottery winners to pay any advance or upfront fees to anyone at any time or for any reason. As a winner, you will never need to pay to get your winnings.

Please note that all prizes are paid in Canadian currency.

International Residents

International residents don’t need to pay income tax to Canadian authorities on their lottery winnings.

Canadian Residents

In general, lottery winnings aren’t considered taxable for Canadian income tax purposes.

U.S. Residents

U.S. tax laws around lottery winnings are different than Canadian laws. If you’re a resident of the U.S. and you’ve won, we recommend getting in touch with a tax professional.

How to Claim a Prize if You Live Outside of Canada

Canadian and provincial laws restrict OLG's gaming activities to the Province of Ontario. If you purchased a winning lottery ticket from an authorized retailer in Ontario and don’t live in Canada you have two options:

Toronto skyline icon

Attend the OLG Prize Centre in Toronto in person.

See prize centre location
Mail icon

If your prize is under $10,000, follow our Claiming Your Prize by Mail instructions. If you live in the U.S., please include a Canadian address we can send your cheque to. We’ll also need your U.S. address.

Claiming Prizes for U.S. Residents

If you’re living in the U.S. and you’re claiming an OLG lottery prize, please keep the following things in mind.

OLG never uses third parties to locate or pay its winners.

It is OLG policy not to mail any lottery-related materials, including prize cheques, to the U.S. It is contrary to U.S. laws and postal regulations for an entity which operates lotteries to knowingly deposit in the mail, or send or deliver by mail to the U.S., any letters or packages concerning a lottery, and/or any paper, writing, or other device used, to be used, or adapted, devised, or designed for use as an integral part of conducting a lottery.

As well, it is OLG policy not to wire transfer prize payments to winners in the U.S., or transfer prize payments by any other method to the U.S. that may have the appearance of trying to bypass or circumvent U.S. postal regulations and legislation. If you have any questions about the application of U.S. postal regulations to Canadian lottery winnings, please get in touch with the United States Postal Service.

Please note: all prizes are payable in Canadian funds.

Claiming Prizes for Non-U.S. International Residents

OLG's current practice is to mail prize cheques, when requested, to international mailing addresses, with the exception of addresses within the U.S. OLG cannot guarantee the safe or timely delivery of such mailings. Winners who request mailed prize cheques to international addresses do so at their own risk.

You can give OLG a Canadian address where we can mail your cheque.

Please note: all prizes are payable in Canadian funds.

Globe graphic
 

Expiry Dates

Unfortunately, you can’t redeem a prize for an OLG LOTTO or INSTANT ticket
once it has expired.

LOTTO game tickets expire 12 months after the draw date printed on the ticket. The expiry date
for INSTANT tickets will be printed on the back of the ticket.

Taxes et frais

Au Canada, un gagnant à la loterie n’a pas de frais à payer aux autorités canadiennes sur les gains de loterie. De plus, OLG ne demande jamais aux gagnants de loterie de payer d’avance des frais à qui que ce soit, à aucun moment et pour quelque raison que ce soit. Comme gagnant, vous n’aurez jamais à payer pour obtenir votre gain.

Veuillez prendre note que tous les lots sont en monnaie canadienne.

Résidents de l’extérieur du Canada

Les personnes qui résident à l’extérieur du Canada ne paient pas d’impôt aux autorités canadiennes sur les gains de loterie.

Résidents canadiens

En règle générale, les gains de loterie ne sont pas imposables à des fins fiscales au Canada.

Résidents des États-Unis

Les lois fiscales américaines relatives aux gains à la loterie ne sont pas les mêmes qu'au Canada. Si vous résidez aux États-Unis et que vous avez gagné un lot, nous vous recommandons de communiquer avec un conseiller fiscal.

Comment réclamer un lot si vous ne résidez pas au Canada

Les lois canadiennes et provinciales limitent les activités de jeu d'OLG à la province de l'Ontario. Si vous avez acheté un billet de loterie gagnant auprès d'un détaillant agréé en Ontario et que vous ne résidez pas au Canada, vous avez deux options :

Icône avec silhouette de Toronto

Vous rendre en personne au Centre des prix de Toronto.

Voir l’adresse du Centre des prix
Icône avec envoi postal

Si le lot est inférieur à 10 000 $, suivre les instructions à la rubrique Comment réclamer un lot par la poste. N'oubliez pas de fournir à OLG une adresse au Canada à laquelle elle postera votre chèque. De plus, fournissez votre adresse aux É-U.

Voyez comment réclamer un lot pour un gagnant qui réside aux États-Unis

Si vous résidez aux États-Unis et que vous réclamez un lot de loterie d’OLG, veuillez garder à l’esprit ce qui suit.

OLG ne recourt pas à des tiers pour trouver ou payer ses gagnants.

OLG a pour politique de ne pas poster de matériel relatif à la loterie, incluant les chèques des lots, aux É-U. Il est contraire aux lois et à la réglementation postale des É-U qu'une entité qui exploite des loteries mette à la poste, ou envoie ou livre par la poste, sciemment, des lettres ou des paquets concernant une loterie et (ou) un document, un écrit ou tout autre matériel utilisé, à utiliser, ou adapté, élaboré ou destiné à être employé comme partie intégrante de la tenue d'une loterie.

De même, OLG a pour politique de ne pas virer électroniquement les paiements de lot aux É-U, ni de virer aux É-U les paiements de lots par toute autre méthode qui pourrait sembler être une tentative de contourner ou d'éluder la loi et la réglementation postale des É-U. Si vous avez des questions concernant l'application de la réglementation postale des É-U aux gains de loterie au Canada, veuillez les adresser au service postal américain.

Remarque. – Tous les lots sont payés en monnaie canadienne.

Réclamation d’un lot pour un gagnant qui ne réside pas au Canada ni aux États-Unis

OLG a pour pratique de poster les chèques des lots, sur demande, à des adresses postales internationales, à l'exception des adresses aux É-U. OLG ne peut garantir la livraison rapide et sûre de ces envois postaux. Les gagnants qui demandent que le chèque de leur lot leur soit envoyé par la poste le font à leur risque.

Vous pouvez aussi fournir à OLG une adresse au Canada à laquelle elle pourra poster votre chèque.

Remarque. – Tous les lots sont payés en monnaie canadienne.

Image avec la Terre
 

Dates d’expiration

Malheureusement, vous ne pouvez réclamer un lot après l'expiration d'un billet
de LOTO ou INSTANT.

Tous les billets de jeux de LOTO expirent 12 mois après la date de tirage qui y est indiquée.
La date d’expiration des billets INSTANT est imprimée au verso du billet.