1. WHAT IS LOTTO 6/49?

LOTTO 6/49 is Canada’s classic national lottery game. It gives players a chance to win the main jackpot prize that starts at $5 million and grows until somebody wins! It also offers a $1 million Guaranteed Prize Draw and other cash prizes. 

2. HOW IS LOTTO 6/49 PLAYED AND HOW MUCH DOES IT COST?

Players can purchase a LOTTO 6/49 play for $3 at retail or online at PlayOLG.ca. Each play offers a chance to win the multi-million-dollar jackpot, the $1 million Guaranteed Prize Draw and other cash prizes. Players can choose to play by using the Quick Pick option or by selecting their own set of six numbers between 1 and 49. ENCORE can be added for $1 per play.

3. WHAT ARE THE ODDS OF WINNING A PRIZE WITH LOTTO 6/49? 

The overall odds of winning are 1 in 6.6. The odds of winning the jackpot are approximately 1 in 13.9 million. To view the odds for the various other prize categories, please visit the LOTTO 6/49 Odds & Payouts page.

4. WHAT IS THE PRIZE PAYOUT ON LOTTO 6/49?

The total prize payout to players is 47 per cent of sales. The main prize fund is funded by 40 per cent of sales. The $1 million Guaranteed Prize Draw is funded by 7 per cent of sales. 

5. IS COMBINATION PLAY AVAILABLE WITH LOTTO 6/49?

Yes. Players can choose to play 5, 7, 8 and 9 number combination play on LOTTO 6/49.

6. IS ADVANCE PLAY AVAILABLE WITH LOTTO 6/49?

Customers can play up to 26 weeks (52 draws) with Advance Play. See the LOTTO 6/49 selection slip or ask your lottery retailer for details.

 

7. CAN I PLAY ENCORE WITH LOTTO 6/49?

Yes, ENCORE is available for purchase with LOTTO 6/49.

8. HOW LONG DO LOTTO 6/49 PRIZE WINNERS HAVE TO CLAIM THEIR PRIZE?

Prizes can be claimed for up to one year from the draw date.

 

9. What happens to LOTTO 6/49 prizes that go unclaimed?

Unclaimed prizes on national lottery games like LOTTO 6/49 and LOTTO MAX are returned to players through guaranteed jackpots and bonus draws.

10. ARE THERE OFFICIAL RULES FOR LOTTO 6/49?

Yes. LOTTO 6/49 Game Conditions can be found on OLG.ca under Lotteries.

Guaranteed Prize Draw

 

1.  What is the $1 Million GUARANTEED PRIZE DRAW?

The $1 million Guaranteed Prize Draw offers LOTTO 6/49 players a chance to win $1 million from an extra selection on each ticket. By drawing only from selections issued, there will always be a winning selection for the Guaranteed Prize Draw. This draw is included in every $3 LOTTO 6/49 play at no extra cost.

2. WHAT ARE THE ODDS OF WINNING THE $1 MILLION GUARANTEED PRIZE DRAW?  

The odds for the Guaranteed Prize Draw are determined for each draw by the total number of selections issued across Canada. For example, if 5 million LOTTO 6/49 plays are issued, there would be 5 million selections for the $1 million Guaranteed Prize Draw, which means the odds of any one selection being drawn would be 1 in 5 million.

 

3. CAN YOU GUARANTEE THAT THE $1 MILLION PRIZE WILL ALWAYS BE AWARDED? 

No. A prize can only be awarded after a winning ticket is presented for validation and approved for payment. While most lottery prizes are claimed by customers – especially when the prize is $1 million or more – there is always some possibility that a winning ticket might not be presented for payment or that the prize claim is not approved.

4. WHY DOES MY GUARANTEED PRIZE DRAW SELECTION ALWAYS START WITH A 4 OR A 5?

The first digit of the Guaranteed Prize Draw selection identifies the region where the ticket was issued. All OLG selections begin with a 4 or 5, indicating that the ticket was issued in Ontario. No two Guaranteed Prize Draw selections are the same for any given draw. 

5. WHY DOES MY GUARANTEED PRIZE DRAW SELECTION ALWAYS END IN “01”?

The last two digits of your Guaranteed Prize Draw selection identify the number of selections purchased on a ticket. For example, a customer who purchases a single LOTTO 6/49 play always has a Guaranteed Prize Draw number ending in “01.”  If the ticket contains multiple plays, the player receives multiple Guaranteed Prize Draw selections – the first eight digits are the same for all selections; the two-digit number following the hyphen starts at 01 and increases by one for each additional selection on the ticket.

6. WHY CAN'T I CHOOSE MY OWN GUARANTEED PRIZE DRAW SELECTION? 

To ensure there is only one winning Guaranteed Prize Draw selection, every selection must be unique.  If customers were to choose their own selections, there would always be the possibility that two players could have the same winning Guaranteed Prize Draw selection, and therefore have to split the $1 million prize. 

7. I PURCHASED MULTIPLE LOTTO 6/49 PLAYS ON THE SAME TICKET, BUT IT LOOKS LIKE I’VE ONLY GOT TWO GUARANTEED PRIZE DRAW SELECTIONS. WHY ARE THERE NOT MORE SELECTIONS FOR THE GUARANTEED PRIZE DRAW?

Whenever a LOTTO 6/49 ticket is issued with three or more plays, the Guaranteed Prize Draw selections appear as a range.

For example, if you purchased a 5-number combination, you receive 44 LOTTO 6/49 regular selections and 44 Guaranteed Prize Draw Selections.

The Guaranteed Prize Draw selections on your ticket would appear as:

FROM:            12345678-01

 TO:                12345678-44

 

8. DO I GET A DIFFERENT GUARANTEED PRIZE DRAW SELECTION FOR EACH DRAW INCLUDED IN AN ADVANCE PLAY PURCHASE? 

Same as with the regular selections for the main draw, with an Advance Play purchase you will have the same Guaranteed Prize Draw selections entered into each Guaranteed Prize Draw that is included in your Advance Play purchase.  Each draw is an independent, random draw and so there is no effect on your odds of winning the Guaranteed Prize Draw – the odds on each draw are always dependent on the number of selections issued for that draw.

9. HOW ARE LOTTO 6/49 DRAWS CONDUCTED?

LOTTO 6/49 draws are held every Wednesday and Saturday and are conducted using Random Number Generator (RNG) technology that has been independently tested and certified by an internationally recognized and accredited tester. The Guaranteed Prize Draw is also conducted using RNG.

RANDOM NUMBER GENERATOR

1. WHEN DID YOU START USING RANDOM NUMBER GENERATORS (RNG) INSTEAD OF BALL DRAWS FOR THE NATIONAL GAMES?

The lottery-draw process for LOTTO MAX and LOTTO 6/49 was modernized and simplified by the Interprovincial Lottery Corporation (ILC) in May 2019 to offer our players the best gaming and entertainment experience possible.

RNG draws are becoming more common for lottery draws worldwide and are often used for games with multiple draws that require results more quickly. 

Draws for WHEEL OF FORTUNE, DAILY GRAND, the Guaranteed Prize draw feature of LOTTO 6/49 and the MAXMILLIONS feature of LOTTO MAX are also conducted using Random Number Generator software. It is also used for the instant win component of POKER LOTTO and MEGADICE.

 

2. HOW DOES THE RANDOM NUMBER GENERATOR METHOD WORK?

The ILC RNG system uses a proprietary algorithm to generate random numbers. The RNG used is independently tested and certified for its effectiveness in generating random results and its integrity. A number of checks and balances are performed to ensure draw security and are witnessed by external auditors (Grant Thornton LLP). An additional external auditor performs a parallel draw from a separate geographical location (Deloitte).

 

3. HOW SECURE ARE RNG DRAWS?

Gaming Laboratories International, LLC (GLI) reviewed and tested the Random Number Generation (RNG) software that is used to conduct the RNG components of the LOTTO 6/49, LOTTO MAX and DAILY GRAND games and certifies that the RNG software exhibits random behavior and is suitable for the application of the lottery draws stated.

A number of checks and balances are performed to ensure draw security and are witnessed (Grant Thornton LLP) and verified (Deloitte), by two external auditors, located in two separate geographical locations.

 

4. WHO IS THE INDEPENDENT CERTIFIER FOR THE RNG TECHNOLOGY?

Gaming Laboratories International, LLC (GLI) reviewed and tested the RNG software that is used to conduct components of LOTTO 6/49, LOTTO MAX and DAILY GRAND draws. GLI certifies that the RNG software exhibits random behavior.

 

5. ARE YOU ABLE TO WATCH RNG DRAWS? ARE THEY AVAILABLE ON THE WEBSITE?

Animated videos depicting the draw results for LOTTO MAX, LOTTO 6/49 and DAILY GRAND are available to watch on OLG.ca after the draw takes place.

 

6. WHY AREN’T THE ENCORE NUMBERS INCLUDED AT THE END OF THE NEW ANIMATED DRAW VIDEOS?

These new videos are in a different format than the previous draw videos. In the past OLG would add the ENCORE draw results to the video once received from ILC. With this new format, we are unable to edit the video without having the ENCORE results appear out of place. Customers can still watch ENCORE draw videos and see ENCORE results by visiting the ENCORE page of OLG.ca.

 

Download the official LOTTO 6/49 Game Conditions. Download the official Interprovincial Lottery Corporation Rules and Regulations Respecting Lotteries and Lottery Tickets and the Supplemental OLG Rules and Conditions to Interprovincial Lottery Corporation Games. While efforts are made to ensure that the rules are accurate and up to date, the game conditions cannot always reflect changes. The Interprovincial Lottery Corporation (ILC) reserves the right to change these game conditions, with or without notice and at such times and in such manner as ILC deems appropriate.

1. EN QUOI CONSISTE LOTTO 6/49?

LOTTO 6/49 est le jeu de loterie national classique du Canada. Il donne aux joueurs la possibilité de gagner le gros lot principal qui commence à 5 millions de dollars et augmente jusqu’à ce qu’il soit gagné! Il offre également le tirage d’un lot garanti de 1 million de dollars et d’autres lots en argent.

2. COMMENT JOUE-T-ON À LOTTO 6/49 ET COMBIEN COÛTE LE JEU?

Les joueurs peuvent acheter un jeu de LOTTO 6/49 au prix de 3 $ chez un détaillant de loterie ou en ligne, à PlayOLG.ca. Chaque jeu fait courir la chance de gagner le gros lot de plusieurs millions de dollars, le lot garanti de 1 million de dollars et d’autres lots en argent. Les joueurs peuvent choisir de jouer avec l’option Mise-éclair ou de sélectionner leur propre série de six numéros de 1 à 49. Vous pouvez ajouter ENCORE pour 1 $ de plus par jeu.

3. QUELLES SONT LES PROBABILITÉS GLOBALES DE GAGNER UN LOT DE LOTTO 6/49? 

Les probabilités globales de gagner sont de 1 sur 6,6. Les probabilités de gagner le gros lot sont d’environ 1 sur 13,9 millions de dollars. Veuillez consulter la page Probabilités et paiements de LOTTO 6/49 pour voir les probabilités des autres catégories de lots.

4. QUEL EST LE PROCESSUS DE PAIEMENT DES LOTS DE LOTTO 6/49?

Le paiement total des lots aux joueurs correspond à quarante-sept pour cent. Quarante pour cent des ventes sont versés au fonds principal des lots. Sept pour cent des ventes financent le tirage du lot garanti de 1 million de dollars.

5. LE JEU-COMBINAISONS EST-IL OFFERT AVEC LOTTO 6/49?

Oui. Les joueurs peuvent choisir de participer aux jeux-combinaisons à 5, 7, 8 et 9 numéros avec LOTTO 6/49.

6. L’OPTION MULTI-MISE EST-ELLE OFFERTE AVEC LOTTO 6/49?

Les clients peuvent participer jusqu’à 26 semaines (52 tirages) à l’avance avec l’option Multi-mise. Pour en savoir plus, consultez la fiche de sélection de LOTTO 6/49 ou adressez-vous à votre détaillant de loterie.

 

7. PUIS-JE JOUER À ENCORE AVEC LOTTO 6/49?

Oui, ENCORE peut être acheté avec LOTTO 6/49.

8. DE COMBIEN DE TEMPS DISPOSENT LES GAGNANTS D’UN LOT DE LOTTO 6/49 POUR RÉCLAMER LEUR LOT?

Les lots peuvent être réclamés jusqu’à un an après la date du tirage.

 

9. Que se passe-t-il avec les lots de LOTTO 6/49 qui ne sont pas réclamés?

Les lots non réclamés des jeux de loterie nationaux comme LOTTO 6/49 et LOTTO MAX sont retournés aux joueurs sous forme de gros lots garantis et de tirages bonis.

10. LE RÈGLEMENT OFFICIEL DE LOTTO 6/49 EST-IL DISPONIBLE?

Oui. Vous pouvez obtenir les Conditions de jeu officielles de LOTTO 6/49 sur OLG.ca dans la section Loteries. 

TIRAGE DU LOT GARANTI 

1. En quoi consiste le TIRAGE DU LOT GARANTI de 1 million de dollars?

Le tirage du lot garanti de 1 million de dollars donne aux joueurs la possibilité de gagner 1 million de dollars avec une sélection supplémentaire figurant sur chaque billet. Comme le tirage est effectué uniquement parmi les sélections émises, il y a toujours une sélection gagnante au tirage du lot garanti. Ce tirage est inclus avec chaque jeu à 3 $ de LOTTO 6/49 et ne coûte rien de plus.

2. QUELLES SONT LES PROBABILITÉS DE GAGNER AU TIRAGE DU LOT GARANTI DE 1 MILLION DE DOLLARS? 

Les probabilités de gagner le tirage du lot garanti de 1 million de dollars sont établies à chaque tirage par le nombre total de sélections émises au Canada. Par exemple, si 5 millions de jeux de LOTTO 6/49 étaient émis, il y aurait 5 millions de sélections au tirage du lot garanti de 1 million de dollars, ce qui signifie que les probabilités de gagner avec une sélection seraient de 1 sur 5 millions.

3. POUVEZ-VOUS GARANTIR QUE LE LOT DE 1 MILLION DE DOLLARS SERA TOUJOURS ATTRIBUÉ? 

Non. Un lot peut être attribué uniquement après qu’un billet gagnant a été présenté pour validation et que le paiement a été approuvé. Même si la vaste majorité des lots sont réclamés par les clients – particulièrement lorsque le lot est de 1 million de dollars ou plus – il est toujours possible qu’un billet gagnant ne soit pas présenté en vue du paiement ou que la réclamation du lot ne soit pas approuvée.

4. POURQUOI MA SÉLECTION POUR LE TIRAGE DU LOT GARANTI COMMENCE-ELLE TOUJOURS PAR 4 OU 5?

Le tirage du lot garanti est établi de telle sorte que le premier chiffre identifie la région où le billet a été émis.  Toutes les sélections d’OLG commencent par 4 ou 5, ce qui indique qu’un billet a été émis en Ontario. Pour le tirage du lot garanti, il n’y a pas deux sélections identiques. 

5. POURQUOI MA SÉLECTION POUR LE TIRAGE DU LOT GARANTI SE TERMINE-T-ELLE TOUJOURS PAR « 01 »?

Les deux derniers chiffres de votre sélection pour le tirage du lot garanti identifient le nombre de sélections achetées sur un billet. Par exemple, si un client achète un seul jeu de LOTTO 6/49, le numéro pour le tirage du lot garanti se termine toujours par « 01 » sur le billet. Si le billet comporte plusieurs jeux, le joueur obtient plusieurs sélections pour le tirage du lot garanti. Les huit premiers chiffres sont les mêmes pour toutes les sélections; le numéro à deux chiffres qui suit le trait d’union commence à 01, et il augmente de un pour chaque sélection supplémentaire sur le billet.

6. POURQUOI NE PUIS-JE PAS CHOISIR MA PROPRE SÉLECTION POUR LE TIRAGE DU LOT GARANTI?

Pour qu’il n’y ait qu’une seule sélection gagnante au tirage du lot garanti, chaque sélection doit être unique. Si les clients choisissaient leurs propres sélections, il pourrait arriver que deux joueurs aient la même sélection gagnante au tirage du lot garanti et, par conséquent, le lot de 1 million de dollars devrait être partagé.

7. J’AI ACHETÉ PLUSIEURS JEUX DE LOTTO 6/49 sur LE MÊME BILLET, MAIS IL SEMBLE QUE JE N’AI QUE DEUX SÉLECTIONS POUR LE TIRAGE DU LOT GARANTI.  POURQUOI N’Y A-T-IL PAS PLUS DE SÉLECTIONS POUR LE TIRAGE DU LOT GARANTI?

Lorsqu’un billet de LOTTO 6/49 est émis avec trois jeux ou plus, les sélections pour le tirage du lot garanti sont indiquées sous la forme d’une série.

Par exemple, si vous achetez une combinaison à 5 numéros, vous recevez 44 sélections régulières de LOTTO 6/49 et 44 sélections pour le tirage du lot garanti.

Les sélections pour le tirage du lot garanti seront indiquées de cette façon sur votre billet :

           

DE :              12345678-01

À :                12345678-44

 

8. EST-CE QUE J’OBTIENS UNE SÉLECTION POUR LE TIRAGE DU LOT GARANTI DIFFÉRENTE POUR CHAQUE TIRAGE INCLUS DANS UN ACHAT MULTI-MISE?

Comme pour les sélections régulières pour le tirage principal, avec un achat Multi-mise, vous obtenez les mêmes sélections pour le tirage du lot garanti que celles pour chaque tirage du lot garanti inclus dans votre achat Multi-mise. Chaque tirage est un tirage au sort indépendant et n’a aucune incidence sur vos probabilités de gagner au tirage du lot garanti : les probabilités de gagner à chaque tirage dépendent toujours du nombre de sélections émises pour ce tirage.

9. COMMENT LES TIRAGES DE LOTTO 6/49 SE DÉROULENT-ILS?

Les tirages de LOTTO 6/49 se tiennent tous les mercredis et tous les samedis à l’aide d’un logiciel générateur de nombres aléatoires (GNA) qui a été mis à l’essai de manière indépendante et certifié par un organisme reconnu et accrédité de niveau international. Les tirages des lots garantis se font également à l’aide d’un GNA.

 

GÉNÉRATEUR DE NOMBRES ALÉATOIRES 

1. QUAND AVEZ-VOUS COMMENCÉ À UTILISER DES GÉNÉRATEURS DE NOMBRES ALÉATOIRES (GNA) AU LIEU DES BOULIERS POUR LES TIRAGES DES JEUX NATIONAUX?

Le fonctionnement des tirages de LOTTO MAX et de LOTTO 6/49 a été modernisé et simplifié en mai 2019 afin d’offrir à nos joueurs la meilleure expérience de jeu et de divertissement possible.

La méthode de tirage à l’aide d’un GNA est de plus en plus courante pour les tirages de loterie partout dans le monde. Les GNA sont d’ailleurs souvent utilisés pour les jeux à tirages multiples qui nécessitent un dévoilement plus rapide des résultats. 

Les tirages de WHEEL OF FORTUNE et de DAILY GRAND ainsi que les tirages des lots garantis de LOTTO 6/49 et des lots MAXMILLIONS de LOTTO MAX sont également réalisés au moyen d’un logiciel générateur de nombres aléatoires. Un générateur de nombres aléatoires est aussi utilisé pour le volet Gain instantané de POKER LOTTO et de MEGADICE.

 

2. COMMENT LA MÉTHODE DE TIRAGE À L’AIDE D’UN GÉNÉRATEUR DE NOMBRES ALÉATOIRES FONCTIONNE-T-ELLE?

Le système du GNA de la SLI utilise un algorithme breveté pour générer des nombres aléatoires. Le GNA utilisé est mis à l’essai de manière indépendante et son efficacité à générer des résultats aléatoires ainsi que son intégrité sont certifiées. Des vérifications et des contrôles sont exécutés pour garantir la sûreté des tirages et sont supervisés par des auditeurs externes (Grant Thornton, LLP). Un autre auditeur externe effectue un tirage en parallèle dans une zone géographique différente (Deloitte).

 

3. DANS QUELLE MESURE LES TIRAGES EFFECTUÉS À L’AIDE D’UN GNA SONT-ILS SÛRS?

Gaming Laboratories International, LLC (GLI) a examiné et mis à l’essai le logiciel générateur de nombres aléatoires (GNA) utilisé pour les volets GNA des jeux LOTTO 6/49, LOTTO MAX et DAILY GRAND et certifie que le logiciel GNA affiche des comportements aléatoires et qu’il convient à la réalisation des tirages des jeux de loterie mentionnés.

Des vérifications et des contrôles sont exécutés pour garantir la sûreté des tirages et sont supervisés (Grant Thornton, LLP) et vérifiés par (Deloitte), deux auditeurs externes situés dans deux zones géographiques différentes.

 

4. QUI EST LE CERTIFICATEUR INDÉPENDANT POUR LA TECHNOLOGIE DES GNA?

Gaming Laboratories International, LLC (GLI) a examiné et mis à l’essai le logiciel GNA utilisé pour les volets des tirages de LOTTO 6/49, LOTTO MAX et DAILY GRAND. GLI certifie que le logiciel GNA affiche des comportements aléatoires.

 

5. PEUT-ON REGARDER LES TIRAGES EFFECTUÉS À L’AIDE D’UN GNA? SONT-ILS ACCESSIBLES SUR LE SITE WEB?

Des vidéos animées illustrant les résultats des tirages de LOTTO MAX, LOTTO 6/49 et DAILY GRAND peuvent être regardées sur OLG.ca après les tirages.

 

6. POURQUOI LES NUMÉROS DE ENCORE NE SONT-ILS PAS INCLUS À LA FIN DES NOUVELLES VIDÉOS ANIMÉES DES TIRAGES?

Ces nouvelles vidéos ont un format différent de celui des anciennes vidéos des tirages. Auparavant, OLG ajoutait les résultats des tirages de ENCORE à la vidéo après les avoir reçus de la SLI. Le nouveau format ne nous permet pas de monter la vidéo sans que les résultats de ENCORE n’apparaissent au mauvais endroit. Les clients peuvent toujours regarder les vidéos des tirages de ENCORE et consulter les résultats de ENCORE en visitant la page ENCORE du site OLG.ca. 

 

Téléchargez les conditions de jeu officielles de LOTTO 6/49.Téléchargez le règlement officiel relatif aux loteries et billets de loterie de la Société de la loterie interprovinciale (SLI) et les conditions supplémentaires d'OLG s'ajoutant au règlement de la SLI. Même si tout est mis en œuvre pour que les conditions de jeu soient exactes et à jour, ce n'est pas toujours possible d'y inclure les modifications qui y sont apportées. La SLI se réserve le droit de modifier ces conditions de jeu, avec ou sans préavis et au moment et de la manière qu'elle juge appropriés.